Laurent Tixador
╔LECTROPLATANE
TIXADOR_ELECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

╔LECTROPLATANE

╔LECTROPLATANE

Exhibition view

1/11

For his third exhibition at the Galerie In Situ, Laurent Tixador has chosen to invest the space using materials of proximity. «ELECTROPLATANE» temporarily creates a new interior for the gallery, from the electrical circuitry to the exhibition furniture, using Paris plane tree branches, the reference in terms of urban wood, harvested from this winter’s pruning’s.

Laurent Tixador is a DIY artist and the author of experience in its broadest sense.
In his desire to work essentially with what his immediate environment offers him (which he likes to call opportunistic material), he makes it a point of honor to use simple technologies. He is less interested in the success of an object qua object than building a corpus of opportunities to test both an architectural gesture and his ability to adapt to uncertain conditions.

Tixador Laurent’s projects also involve, among other things, displacement: voyages (by foot most often) are part of his immediate experience of the environment. The performative act of walking is as much a part of his work as the informing; and his regularly updated blog invites us to follow step by step by step in his progress or stagnation.

This travel diary or ship’s log is complemented by a series of bottles containing scale models of his experiences (in the tradition of the maritime aesthetics of travel souvenirs), small carved objects or gestures of writing and drawing realized on scraps he has gathered on his way.

While environmental and social issues have taken on unprecedented importance in our everyday lives, Laurent Tixador has serenely tested his economy of recovery as he played with the materials he found in situ.

Tixador Laurent was born in 1965 in Colmar; he lives and works in Nantes. Since 2011, Laurent Tixador has participated regularly in solo and group exhibitions in France and abroad (CAPC, MA VAL / Museum of Contemporary Art of the Val-de-Marne, Espace Paul Ricard, Confort Moderne, Frac Reunion Biennale Belleville ...). In 2013, he won the Prix COAL Art and Environment.

Click here to see Laurent Tixador's blog
Click here for more information about Laurent Tixador's solo show, "Florange" at l'espace short in Nantes

Laurent Tixador
ÉLECTROPLATANE
TIXADOR_ELECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

ÉLECTROPLATANE

ÉLECTROPLATANE

Vue d'exposition

1/11

Pour sa troisième exposition à la Galerie In Situ, Laurent Tixador a choisi d’investir les lieux en utilisant des matériaux de proximité. "Electroplatane" vise à habiller pour un temps la galerie, du circuit électrique jusqu’au mobilier d’exposition en utilisant du bois de platane, arbre citadin par excellence récolté pendant l'élagage de cet hiver.

Laurent Tixador est un artiste du bricolage et de l’expérience dans son sens le plus large.
Dans son désir de travailler un maximum avec ce que son environnement immédiat lui offre (ce qu’il aime à appeler le matériau opportuniste), il met un point d’honneur à  recourir à des technologies simples. Il n’est pas question ici de réussite, mais plutôt de construire un corpus de possibilités, de tester aussi bien un geste architectural que sa capacité à s’adapter à des conditions inconnues.

Les projets de Laurent Tixador s’inscrivent en outre dans le déplacement; le voyage (à pied le plus souvent) fait partie de cette expérience immédiate de l’environnement. L’acte performatif de la marche fait œuvre tout comme son récit ; ainsi le blog qu’il enrichit régulièrement nous entraîne pas à pas dans ses progrès ou stagnations.

Ce journal de bord  est complété par  une série de bouteilles contenant des modèles réduits des expériences qu'il a vécues ( s’inscrivant dans l'esthétique maritime du souvenir de voyage), de petits objets  sculptés en chemin, ou d'un geste d’ecriture et de dessin réalisés sur des déchets qu'il a ramassées sur la route.

A l’heure où les enjeux écologiques et sociaux s’imposent à notre quotidien, Laurent Tixador teste tranquillement cette économie de la récupération, joue avec le matériau qu’il trouve in situ.  

Laurent Tixador est né en 1965 à Colmar, il vit et travaille actuellement à Nantes.
Depuis 2001, Laurent Tixador participe régulièrement à des expositions monographiques et collectives, en France et à l’étranger (CAPC, MAC Marseille, Espace Paul Ricard, Confort Moderne, Frac Réunion, Biennale de Belleville…). En 2013, il est lauréat du Prix COAL Art et Environnement.

 

Pour consulter le blog de Laurent Tixador cliquer ici
Lien vers l'exposition solo "Florange", à l'espace Short (Nantes) ici